Dear friends,

Bisexual and transgender communities have a long and deep history of allyship and solidarity. Bisexual transgender people have stood at the forefront of the struggle for LGBTQIA+ rights: at Stonewall, at Pride, and in leadership positions in organizations and legislative bodies across the world.

Today, as transgender, cisgender, and nonbinary representatives of the bisexual, pansexual, fluid, and non-monosexual community, we are here to reaffirm that relationship and to show that we stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the trans community.

Vitriol and hate directed against the trans community proliferates in the press and online and fuels real world violence against trans individuals. We cannot allow it to continue any longer.

Recent statistics from Stonewall UK confirm that many trans people feel uncomfortable existing in public spaces because of fear of harassment or violence. This is an indictment of all of us. We must all do our utmost to crush transphobia and strive for radical trans acceptance.

Bisexual trans people are one of the most vulnerable demographics within the LGBTQIA+ community, particularly in terms of the rates of sexual violence. Trans and nonbinary people of colour especially, are incredibly vulnerable to rape and sexual assault. Our commitment against transphobia must be mindful of the ways it intersects with other marginalisations; especially racism, classism, misogyny, and ableism.

We see the wedge that some sections of the LGBTQIA+ community and their supporters are trying to drive between cisgender gay, lesbian, and bisexual people and our trans and nonbinary siblings and we refuse to allow them to succed.

It was not long ago that bisexual people were not welcome under the rainbow umbrella. Even today, we face significant biphobia from both within the LGBTQIA+ community and outside it. But we refuse to be silenced. We refused to allow biphobes to take our community backwards and exclude any member of the rainbow family and we refuse to let transphobes do the same.

The rhetoric of transphobia is driven by hate. It is hate not just for trans and nonbinary people but for all of us. We reject this divisive rhetoric and stand strong with our trans and nonbinary siblings. We stand with cisgender lesbian and gay trans allies, also.

We see those who seek to divide us dominating the conversation and we say ‘enough’. Our unity is our power. We will not be cowed.

Trans people are valued and vital members of the bisexual community and we will not let hateful people divide us. We must continue to speak out for and support trans people of all walks of life.

The trans flag was created by Monica Helms after being inspired by the creator of the bisexual flag Michael Page, and we will always be proud to fly them together.

Sign the letter here

If you support this message and want to do more to help trans lives, please consider donating to:

Signed in solidarity,

Lois Shearing – Founder, Bi Survivors Network and #DoBetterBiUs

Libby Baxter-Williams – Director, Biscuit

Pip Williams – Copywriter, My Kid Is Gay and Freelance Journalist

Charlie Mathers – Engagement Officer, Gay Star News/Influencers Coordinator at Pride in London

John G. – Organiser, London Bisexuals Meetup Group

Beth Oliver

Emily Burt

Mike Jury

Karen Pollock – Psychotherapist/ Diversity and Inclusion Lead, Bi Pride UK

Peter Herold – Bisexual activist

Ron J Suresha – Bisexual activist and author

Tess B

Tess Brooks – Bisexual counsellor

Jon Ribbens – Bisexual activist

Richie O’Hara-Beamand

Jack Dover

Marta Croche Trigo – Member, Mount Vernon High School Diversity Club

Frank Thies – Founder, Bi & Friends HH

Hafsa QureshiStonewall Bi Role Model of the Year 2019

Theresa Enghardt – Bisexual activist

Rachel Hallows – Bi rep, NHS Lothian LGBT+ Staff Network

Arianna CeraoloBiFamlies

Silvia CarugoBproud, la voce del lato Bi

Jane Wallace – Researcher and Independent Scholar

Carissa Nicole Winn

Shannon Aber 

Sally Goldner AM – Diversity Educator/Treasurer, Bisexual Alliance Victoria/Executive Director Transgender Victoria

Chris Bee – Support worker

Dominic Arnall – Memeber, London Bi Network

Rosie Nelson – University of Bristol PhD, Researcher of Bisexuality

Nevo Zisin – Trans & bi activist

Dominic Arnall – Head of Programme Management,Time to Change/ memeber, London Bi Network

Julie Cohen – Author/founder, Romantic Novelists’ Association Rainbow Chapter

Vaneet – Writer, producer and activist

Robin GoodwinScottish Bi+ Network

Lorna WardScottish Bi+ Network

Jax Jacki Brown – LGBTIQ Disability Rights Activist

Katie Sutton   

Anne Ramsden

Misty Farquhar – Founder, Bisexual+ Community Perth

Caitlin Walsh

Julia Butler – Co-organizer, LGBTQ Anime Austin

Evan Slash Reed Peterson – Activist/Co-Editor, Bisexual Books

Bi Pride UK

George Alabaster – Co-chair, Stonewall’s Bi Network

Diana Adams – Executive Director, Chosen Family Law Center, Inc.

Jai Deo

Maggie Woodward – Director, Denton Deviants

Larker Anthology

Jen Yockney MBE – Editor, Bi Community News

Beth Sherouse, PhD – Bisexual writer and advocate

Danielle Mustarde

BiBerlin e.V.

Madeline Seel – Bi activist/founder, bisexual advice and resource blog gettin-bi-bi-bi

Emily G

Hana S. – VP, Queer student association

Jenn Hilema

Emily Wright  – BiPhoria

Manchester Sharks LGBT Water Polo Club – Bi-inclusive sports club

Jennie Rigg – Chair, LGBT+ Lib Dems

Luke Graham

Olly Craven  

Alisdair Calder McGregor – Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Candidate/ member of the LibDems Federal Policy Committee/FPC liaison, LGBT+LDs

Andy Hinton

Richard Gadsden – Parliamentary candidate, Liberal Democrats

Sydney Bi+ Network   

Luigi FerrerSouth Florida Bisexual+ Network (SFBN+)


Faith Cheltenham – Independent Black bi and intersex liberty worker


Lynnette McFadzen


Holly Matthies – Bisexual activist/volunteer, Biphoria

Martin Rawlings-Fein – Co-Director, Bay Area Bisexual Network/Board Member, BiNet USA

Catherine S Goodacre

Calum Shepherd – Co-Founder, Scottish Bi+ Network

Cat Telford – Activist, feminist and human rights campaigner

Kerry RushPositive Change Arts Projects

Lyndsay Thomson

Graeme Thomson – Chair, Friends of Cumbernauld’s Stations

Gillian Thomson

Nic Bullen – Co-Chair, Stonewall’s Bi Network Group/Grants Manager, Stonewall

Sara Walsh

Daniel Holt   

Angela Anderson – Committee Member, Bi+ Glasgow

Nico Gomez – Bi Writer/Creator, reFAB Magazine

Ralf Eckstein – Board Member, Bisexuelles Netzwerk e.V.

Donna Reynolds – Committee Member, Bi+ Glasgow

John Bennett – Committee Member, Bi+ Glasgow

Christie Mackie

Leona Buchanan

Dawn Wilson – Coordinator, Clydebank High School LGBTQ+ Committee/ Trade union activist

Molly Maher – Senior Campaigns Officer, Stonewall

Melanie Murphy

Jaspreet Tehara   

Hollie Wong

Erica Hall

Beate König

Laura Russell – Director of Campaigns, Policy and Research, Stonewall

Marcus Morgan  – Chair, The Bisexual Index

Inga B  – Development Council Member, Stonewall

Hilde Vossen – Coordinator, European Bisexual Network for Activists